In around the 8th Century BC, the Greeks coined the term ‘artesliberales’ to define those subjects or capacities that were considered essential for a free person to intelligently participate in civic life, including public debate, defending oneself in court, serving on juries, and military service. The Greeks understood the word ‘liberales’ as more than just political freedom. It referred also to a kind of inner creative freedom with which one learned to approach life and relations. It allowed the person to reach higher planes of existence from where external relations could be seen in a new light. Unfortunately, in our modern era we have been increasingly moving away from the goals of liberal arts in our universities in favour of narrow specializations and development of skills. It is our endeavour at the Thapar School to introduce the original ideas of liberal arts into the university education. Since our modern times are dominated by physical sciences, a holistic education in liberal arts must include scientific knowledge and an understanding of their method of reasoning. Hence ‘liberal arts and sciences’. Liberal Arts and Sciences is essentially an integrated programme rather than just interdisciplinary or cross-disciplinary. By an ‘integrated programme’, we mean that it draws its meaning from the ground of the disciplines prior to their formation as separate areas. A good education in liberal arts and sciences would build adequate existential and critical foundations for leaders and thinkers of tomorrow. With a suitable major and concentration, liberal arts and sciences offers the broadest basis for inter-disciplinary thinking which is crucial to policy making. With excellence as its basic mantra, liberal arts and sciences attempts to release the creative potential in the human towards meaningful social existence. This tends to make liberal arts and sciences graduates the most versatile as socially committed public intellectuals. Such skills and abilities can be assets in the highest policy making bodies as well as in further studies in institutions of higher learning.
Mr. Bharat Pal Maurya
Junior Library & Information Assistant
Nava Nalanda Central Library
TIET - 147 004 |
Patiala | Punjab | India |
E-Mail: bharat.maurya@thapar.edu
Junior Library & Information Assistant
Nava Nalanda Central Library
TIET - 147 004 |
Patiala | Punjab | India |
E-Mail: bharat.maurya@thapar.edu
All collections related to Liberal Arts and Science are stacked on the 1st & 2nd floor of the library.
Nava Nalanda Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author and title code to classify books.
After the numbers you will usually find 3 letters - either the first 2 letters of the author's surname and the fisrt one letter of the book's title e.g. 370.15 WO-E.
Example: 370.15 for Educational Psychology
Title: Educational Psychology
Author: Anita Woolfolk
Call No. of this title: 370.15 WO-E
OPAC Home > Advanced search
Check Availability of Books in the Library Collection
1. Collection Code for Library Collection: Gen (General Books), Ref. (Reference Book), TXO (Text Over Night), CP (Career Planning),
2. Call Number (A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library. Call numbers appear on the spines of books and journals and in the library's catalog.)
3. Status (Check the Availability of Your Book in the Library)
4. Barcode (An Accession Number (sometimes called a Document ID) is a unique number assigned by a particular database as an additional means of locating a specific article.)
Nava Nalanda Central Library uses Dewey Decimal Classification system and simple author and title code to classify books.
After the numbers you will usually find 3 letters - either the first 2 letters of the author's surname and the fisrt one letter of the book's title e.g. 370.15 WO-E.
Example: 370.15 for Educational Psychology
Title: Educational Psychology
Author: Anita Woolfolk
Call No. of this title: 370.15 WO-E
Class No. Subject Groups
100 : Philosophy
150 : Psychology
330 : Economics
370 : Education
320 : Political Science
900 : History
658 : Business Administration
340 : Chemistry
150 : Cognitive Science
000 : Computer Science
006.3 : Data Science & AI
333 : Environment and Sustainability
400 : Literary and Cultural Studies
510 : Mathematics
530 : Physics
300 : Sociology
660 : Biotechnology
OPAC Home > Advanced search
Check Availability of Books in the Library Collection
1. Collection Code for Library Collection: Gen (General Books), Ref. (Reference Book), TXO (Text Over Night), CP (Career Planning),
2. Call Number (A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library. Call numbers appear on the spines of books and journals and in the library's catalog.)
3. Status (Check the Availability of Your Book in the Library)
4. Barcode (An Accession Number (sometimes called a Document ID) is a unique number assigned by a particular database as an additional means of locating a specific article.)
Some of the key resources in the area of Liberal Arts that can be useful to students and scholars are:
List of E-Journals
Taylor and Francis Journal Collection
List of E-Journals
Taylor and Francis Journal Collection
Central Library is subscribed a large collection of bibliographic databases and can be accessed from throughout the campus.
EBSCOHost Business Source Premier is accessible throughout the campus of TIET. The EBSCOhost Business Source Premier database collection have an access to about 2200+ fulltext journals, case studies, market report, business wire report, Web News Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, Research Starters, Entrepreneurial Studies Source.
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers is a professional association for electronic engineering and electrical engineering with its corporate office in New York City and its operations center in Piscataway, New Jersey.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Web of Science is a website which provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics.
EBSCOHost Business Source Premier is accessible throughout the campus of TIET. The EBSCOhost Business Source Premier database collection have an access to about 2200+ fulltext journals, case studies, market report, business wire report, Web News Collection, Newspaper Source Plus, Research Starters, Entrepreneurial Studies Source.
The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers is a professional association for electronic engineering and electrical engineering with its corporate office in New York City and its operations center in Piscataway, New Jersey.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
MathSciNet is an electronic publication offering access to a carefully maintained and easily searchable database of reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature.
Web of Science is a website which provides subscription-based access to multiple databases that provide comprehensive citation data for many different academic disciplines. It was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics.
TuDR is the digital asset management system which integrates the intellectual output in the form of research articles, PhD Theses, M.Tech/ME Theses. TuDR facilitates the share and exchange of intellectual output of the university.
The Shodhganga@INFLIBNET Centre provides a platform for research students to deposit their Ph.D. theses and make it available to the entire scholarly community in open access.
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank's official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products. Through the OKR, The World Bank collects, disseminates, and permanently preserves its intellectual output in digital form.
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
It demonstrates the quality of UK research, and supports the UK Government’s open access principle that publications resulting from publicly-funded research should be made freely available for all researchers, providing opportunities for further research. EThOS helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
DSpace@MIT is a digital repository for MIT's research, including peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, working papers, theses, and more.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,153,410 theses and dissertations.
EThOS is the UK’s national thesis service which aims to maximise the visibility and availability of the UK’s doctoral research theses.
It demonstrates the quality of UK research, and supports the UK Government’s open access principle that publications resulting from publicly-funded research should be made freely available for all researchers, providing opportunities for further research. EThOS helps institutions to meet the expectation of the UK Research Councils that PhDs supported by a Research Council Training Grant should be made freely available in an open access repository.
DSpace@MIT is a digital repository for MIT's research, including peer-reviewed articles, technical reports, working papers, theses, and more.
The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination, and preservation of electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). We support electronic publishing and open access to scholarship in order to enhance the sharing of knowledge worldwide. Our website includes resources for university administrators, librarians, faculty, students, and the general public. Topics include how to find, create, and preserve ETDs; how to set up an ETD program; legal and technical questions; and the latest news and research in the ETD community.
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 5,153,410 theses and dissertations.
These are the electronic books freely accessiable
The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books. Academic publishers are invited to provide metadata of their Open Access books to DOAB. Metadata will be harvestable in order to maximize dissemination, visibility and impact. Aggregators can integrate the records in their commercial services and libraries can integrate the directory into their online catalogues, helping scholars and students to discover the books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and should contain as many books as possible, provided that these publications are in Open Access and meet academic standards.
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
AccessEngineering is an interactive online reference and learning tool that helps engineering students access knowledge.
Indian Open Courseware on Civil Engineering
International Open Courseware on Civil Engineering
International Open Courseware on Civil Engineering
- Delft University of Technology: Civil Engineering in Developing Countries
- Harvard Online Learning
- METU OCW: Civil Engineering
- MIT Civil and Environmental Engineering
- Open Course Library
- Open Yale Course
- Universitat d Alacant Open courseware: Civil Engineering
- University of Saskatchewan: Civil Engineering
