The Web of Science platform connects the Web of Science Core Collection to regional citation indexes, patent data, specialized subject indexes, and an index of research data sets for confident discovery, access, and assessment. 

Search the world’s leading scholarly journals, books, and proceedings in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities and navigate the full citation network.

• All cited references for all publications are fully indexed and searchable.
• Search across all authors and all author affiliations.
• Track citation activity with Citation Alerts.
• See citation activity and trends graphically with the Citation Report.

At Central Library, Thapar Institute of Engineering & Technology, an user can access the Core Collection of the Web of Science, which includes

1. Science Citation Index - Expanded (SCI-Expanded) from 1989 - Onwards
2. Social Science Citation Index (SSCI) from 1989 - Onwards
3. Art and Humanities Citation Index (AHCI) from 1989 - Onwards

Basic Search is the default search page in most WoS databases. Select which database collection you would like to search in. Search by keyword in fields such as topic, title, author, publication name, publication year, and funding agency. Search fields vary based on which database collection is being searched. You can also add more rows of search terms, or add a date range to search within. Use Boolean operators, proximity operators, and truncation/wildcards to narrow your search. WoS searches the bibliographic metadata, not the full text of articles.

Field Search (from Drop Down Menu) provides options for searching the document by 

• Topic (Searches Title, Abstract, Keyword Plus, and Author Keywords) 
• Title (Searches article titles. Title refers to the title of a journal article, proceedings paper, book, or book chapter. Note: To search for the title of a journal, select the Publication Title field.)
• Author (Searches these fields: Authors and Group Author. For Authors, enter the last name first followed by a space and the author's initials.)
• Publication (Searches for journal titles, book titles, proceedings titles, and more. Also referred to as "source titles.")
• Affiliation (Searches preferred organization names and/or their name variants.), and there are more than 20 fields which a user can choose to search documents related to the field 

 

---

 

Web of Science's Advanced Search allows you to build a search using field tags, Boolean expressions, and set combinations. Select which database collection you would like to search in. Select the search field from the drop-down menu, type in your keyword, then hit "Add to query." Your search string will then appear in the "Query Preview" box. Once you are satisfied with your query, hit "Search." You can also add previous searches to a new search query from the "History" box. Field tags are give alongside to know which field you can use to search your desired documents.
For example, Searching any document using the "topic" field
TS=("Electromagnetic Field" AND "Cancer")
TS=(Cancer Treatment" AND "Radiation") 

---

Multiple fields can also be combined.
For Example: TS=Topic; SO=Source Journal
TS=(Cancer Treatment" AND "Radiation") AND SO=("INDIAN JOURNAL OF CANCER")
 

The search results can be sorted by relevance, date, citation count, usage, recently added, and conference title using the drop-down menu to the top-right of the search results. Search results can also refined by quick filters, publication year, document type, WoS categories, authors, publication titles, publishers, access type, language, and more using the expanding menus to the left of the search results.

The main content has information about the Title, Author, Year, Source, Abstract, and Fulltext Access Option, along with the Citation received by the article and related record

Add to Marked List: Option provides an opportunity to create a "Reading List" on the Topic of Research. Relevant search results can be added to a marked list for future use.

Export Results: Option helps to export the results into a variety of formats such as Excel, CSV, and Reference Management Compatible format (RefMan, Plain Text, Bibtex, EndNote, Email, etc). 

Analyze Results: Options help in analyzing the results in different ways - Annual growth, prominent authors, productive organization, county, journals, and subject categories; and these analysis results can be exported as a table.

Citation Report: Provide the citation status of the articles (available through search results) in the form of citing article, times citation, average citation per item, and h-Index.


Fulltext Access to Article : From the record list or an individual citation record, click the “Full Text from Publisher” or "View Fulltext" button. It will navigate to a fulltext source may be a publisher site. If full text is not available, you may request the library for Inter-Library Loan by writing to the librarian at helpcl@thapar.edu. 

Having a Web of Science ResearcherID helps:

• solve author identity issues
• ensure correct attribution between you and your publications on the Web of Science
• add dynamic citation metrics from the Web of Science Core Collection and other missing metadata to publication records on your Publons profile, Web of Science, InCites, etc.
• effortlessly keep your ORCID up to date by linking it to your Web of Science ResearcherID on Publons

Author Identifiers Table

Expand the Authors Identifiers table to view a list of researchers who have claimed a publication using their Web of Science ResearcherID or ORCID identifiers.

The table includes:

• If available, the Web of Science ResearcherID of all authors who have claimed the publication. The hyperlink takes you to the author's Web of Science ResearcherID, hosted on publons.com where you can view all the records in the author's publication list.
• If available, the ORCID of all authors currently associated with the publication.